Well hello there!

Skyboxes

More or less everything you want to know about mapping for WildWest.

Moderators: Ringo, wwbiteme, zivs

User avatar
El Poncho
Prospector
Prospector
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:51 am
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

Skyboxes

Post by El Poncho » Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:41 pm

With a clean install of the wildwest map pack, I'm a bit confused on how to make sky boxes. For wolf, there was a number of skies with shaders and you just had to use those. After looking through a few of the wildwest maps, I can't seem to find any of those original sky textures/shaders. Is there a set of them somewhere that I'm missing?

I used to always refer back to here for choosing which to make my skies with:
http://www.nibsworld.com/rtcw/sky_shaders/sky.html

I'm assuming you can't use these or they don't apply to wildwest? :roll:

User avatar
Ringo
Site Administrator
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Am*dam
Contact:

Post by Ringo » Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:15 am

euhm ...

what was the question ?

u can create your own sky box :) or use other skyboxes ..
it all boils down to shaders ;)
WIP : Wildwest ET
WIP : Wildwest_Radar
WIP : Wildwest_Sanmiguel
WIP : Wildwest_Yuma
WIP : Wildwest Jailbreak
WIP : Wildwest_Muerte
WIP : Wildwest_Abby

User avatar
El Poncho
Prospector
Prospector
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:51 am
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

Post by El Poncho » Wed Apr 14, 2010 1:53 pm

Um...I guess to sum up my question...

How do I create sky using only the WildWest map pack? :oops:

I do not see any sky textures with associated shaders. I suppose I could pull them from the regular rtcw mappers pack?

I appreciate your help Ringo, soon I'll be on my way to making my first wildwest map, and then I'll have lots of good scripting and entity questions for you! haha :D

User avatar
Ringo
Site Administrator
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Am*dam
Contact:

Post by Ringo » Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:45 pm

El Poncho wrote:Um...I guess to sum up my question...

How do I create sky using only the WildWest map pack? :oops:

I do not see any sky textures with associated shaders. I suppose I could pull them from the regular rtcw mappers pack?

I appreciate your help Ringo, soon I'll be on my way to making my first wildwest map, and then I'll have lots of good scripting and entity questions for you! haha :D
the skyboxes in the mapperspack is just to get started , u can add skyboxes etc of your own as long as they are distributed with the pk3 file your making .. the more textures and files the bigger the pk3 gets .. but nowdays nobody has a dialup line :P

hope this answers your question..

im ready for your entity / script questions aswell :)
WIP : Wildwest ET
WIP : Wildwest_Radar
WIP : Wildwest_Sanmiguel
WIP : Wildwest_Yuma
WIP : Wildwest Jailbreak
WIP : Wildwest_Muerte
WIP : Wildwest_Abby

User avatar
El Poncho
Prospector
Prospector
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:51 am
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

Post by El Poncho » Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:30 pm

Ringo wrote: the skyboxes in the mapperspack is just to get started
There are skyboxes in the mapperspack? I can't seem to find them. :(

User avatar
Ringo
Site Administrator
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Am*dam
Contact:

Post by Ringo » Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:17 am

El Poncho wrote:
Ringo wrote: the skyboxes in the mapperspack is just to get started
There are skyboxes in the mapperspack? I can't seem to find them. :(
thats the purpose now innit .. some have em , but your correct .. there isn't one located within the mapperspak ..
( i thought i had but they are from another game .. )

but to answer your question .. on how to make one of your own ..

http://www.nibsworld.com/rtcw/tutorial_skybox.shtml
WIP : Wildwest ET
WIP : Wildwest_Radar
WIP : Wildwest_Sanmiguel
WIP : Wildwest_Yuma
WIP : Wildwest Jailbreak
WIP : Wildwest_Muerte
WIP : Wildwest_Abby

User avatar
El Poncho
Prospector
Prospector
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:51 am
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

Post by El Poncho » Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:00 pm

Yep, I have that tutorial bookmarked. :D

I guess, what I was more looking for was sky textures with working shaders, like the ones that Bolty Boy had listed here: http://www.nibsworld.com/rtcw/sky_shaders/sky.html

I'll just pull them from the RTCW mapperspack I guess, they should work just fine as long as I include them with the map when it's distributed.

User avatar
Ringo
Site Administrator
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Am*dam
Contact:

Post by Ringo » Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:50 am

El Poncho wrote:Yep, I have that tutorial bookmarked. :D

I guess, what I was more looking for was sky textures with working shaders, like the ones that Bolty Boy had listed here: http://www.nibsworld.com/rtcw/sky_shaders/sky.html

I'll just pull them from the RTCW mapperspack I guess, they should work just fine as long as I include them with the map when it's distributed.
yes, well there are some confusions what "skyboxes" or sky textures are :)

misunderstanding .. :D

u can use the skytextures , of rtcw aslong as the shaders and files are distributed
WIP : Wildwest ET
WIP : Wildwest_Radar
WIP : Wildwest_Sanmiguel
WIP : Wildwest_Yuma
WIP : Wildwest Jailbreak
WIP : Wildwest_Muerte
WIP : Wildwest_Abby

User avatar
El Poncho
Prospector
Prospector
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:51 am
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

Post by El Poncho » Fri Apr 16, 2010 3:46 pm

Ringo wrote:
yes, well there are some confusions what "skyboxes" or sky textures are :)

misunderstanding .. :D

u can use the skytextures , of rtcw aslong as the shaders and files are distributed
Now to try and find the files, I can't remember which pk3 they are in. :oops:

Thanks!

User avatar
Ringo
Site Administrator
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Am*dam
Contact:

Post by Ringo » Sat Apr 17, 2010 6:02 am

hacienda sky ..

\textures\ww_hacienda\sky

shader

\scripts\ww_hacienda.shader

now to help u a little with the radiant , and additional western textures ..

extract the entire pk3 ( ww16pak or pakmaps )
ww16 holds the shaders and original textures
pakmaps holds some w3q shaders and textures

if u have extracted the stuff , copy them to your wolf_dev folder ( extracted and copied, remove the bsp files though .. u have no use for them)

so if u have extracted every textures shaders etc , locate shaderlist.txt edit it and fill in the shaders
( wildwest_mine.shader , wildwest_battlecreek.shader ETC ETC)

now u have all the shaders within radiant and u can use more textures
WIP : Wildwest ET
WIP : Wildwest_Radar
WIP : Wildwest_Sanmiguel
WIP : Wildwest_Yuma
WIP : Wildwest Jailbreak
WIP : Wildwest_Muerte
WIP : Wildwest_Abby

User avatar
El Poncho
Prospector
Prospector
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:51 am
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

Post by El Poncho » Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:59 pm

Thanks Ringo!

I think I've got it figured out. Is there a reason why none of the rtcw skies are used?

The outdoor wildwest maps all seem to show the lining of the sky box in game for me, it may be just a mac or setting thing though I'm guessing. :roll:

User avatar
zivs
Super Moderator
Posts: 721
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 3:38 pm
Location: Ogre, Latvia
Contact:

Post by zivs » Tue Apr 20, 2010 3:15 pm

It's not only for you - the lining of skyboxes in WW are shown for everyone :)

User avatar
El Poncho
Prospector
Prospector
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:51 am
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

Post by El Poncho » Tue Apr 20, 2010 5:02 pm

Hmm...that's odd. Is there a reason for that other than it's not a big thing to worry about? :?

User avatar
Ringo
Site Administrator
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Am*dam
Contact:

Post by Ringo » Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:21 am

El Poncho wrote:Hmm...that's odd. Is there a reason for that other than it's not a big thing to worry about? :?
this is probably due to opengl .. i never seen it happen on my earlier systems , only when the 1.6 got released and i swapped to an ATI card ..

the RTCW sky-textures are copyrighted so thats why they are not in the wildwest .. the rtcw code is released however the textures are not .. so thats why ww uses different textures :)
WIP : Wildwest ET
WIP : Wildwest_Radar
WIP : Wildwest_Sanmiguel
WIP : Wildwest_Yuma
WIP : Wildwest Jailbreak
WIP : Wildwest_Muerte
WIP : Wildwest_Abby

User avatar
El Poncho
Prospector
Prospector
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:51 am
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

Post by El Poncho » Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:42 pm

Ah, it's all starting to make more sense now. Thank you for clarifing. I knew there was a reason. :D

But in reality, I could still use them if I wanted to, I'll just have to remain anonymous...j/k. :lol:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests