Well hello there!

Windows 8 Compatibility

Talk about all things related to the WildWest mod.

Moderators: Ringo, wwbiteme, zivs

Post Reply
User avatar
El Stupido
Sheriff
Sheriff
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:16 pm
Contact:

Windows 8 Compatibility

Post by El Stupido » Wed May 29, 2013 8:38 pm

Is anyone running WW under Windows 8 ? I'm ready for a new PC and wondering whether to expect trouble..

User avatar
wwbiteme
Site Administrator
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

Post by wwbiteme » Thu May 30, 2013 11:59 am

My son is running it on Windows 8 without any issues....
Image

User avatar
El Stupido
Sheriff
Sheriff
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

Post by El Stupido » Fri May 31, 2013 2:26 pm

wwbiteme wrote:My son is running it on Windows 8 without any issues....
Cool! Thanks Dave.

User avatar
wwbiteme
Site Administrator
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

Post by wwbiteme » Mon Jul 08, 2013 12:58 am

K tried to load RTCW and then the non SA Wildwest and could not get it to work. Then I loaded the SA version the way I mention in the other thread and it loads no problem.

Is there an issue Win 8 is causing in the non SA version that we can fix?

:?
Image

User avatar
El Stupido
Sheriff
Sheriff
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 8 Compatibility

Post by El Stupido » Mon Jul 08, 2013 2:48 am

I can't seem to make either work.. SA or Insynerate version. In both cases, I get a gray screen and it freezes until I kill it with Task Manager. I've noticed that Win 8 buries the wolfconfig_mp.cfg file in \users\xxx\appdata\local\virtualstore\program files (x86)\RTCW\main ?!?! I wonder if WW is upset because Win 8 is changing the normal location of files?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests