Well hello there!

game wont load error message

Have a problem with the game or just a general support question? Ask your Tech questions here.

Moderators: Ringo, wwbiteme, zivs

Post Reply
victor
Greenhorn
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 3:46 am
Contact:

game wont load error message

Post by victor » Sun Jun 10, 2012 5:41 pm

ok i started ww it loaded but screen was half size and ww screen was half of that went to adjust screen size now it wont let me start game this is error message i get
.44 PFDs found
...hardware acceleration found
...PIXELFORMAT 9 selected
...creating GL context: succeeded
...making context current: succeeded
...WARNING: fullscreen unavailable in this mode
...setting mode 8: 1280 1024 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: failed, bad mode
...trying next higher resolution: failed, bad mode
...restoring display settings
...window already present, CreateWindowEx skipped
Initializing OpenGL driver
...WARNING: fullscreen unavailable in this mode
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
...assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver
...initializing QGL
...WARNING: missing Glide installation, assuming no 3Dfx available
...shutting down QGL
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

any help would be great oh yeah i am running this on my laptop
quack quack

User avatar
wwbiteme
Site Administrator
Posts: 879
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Contact:

Re: game wont load error message

Post by wwbiteme » Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:30 pm

Hmm...not sure on this one...Ringo can you help? I also play from my laptop using the SA version and dont have issues...
Image

User avatar
zivs
Super Moderator
Posts: 721
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 3:38 pm
Location: Ogre, Latvia
Contact:

Re: game wont load error message

Post by zivs » Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:33 am

As much as I could find on this one, there is probably no single and 100% working solution for everyone.

1) What you can try - change following values in wolfconfig_mp.cfg (you can find it in game folder, under WildWest):

seta r_glIgnoreWicked3D "0" to seta r_glIgnoreWicked3D "1"

It just seems that your monitor doesn't support such resolution (1280x1024) and therefore doesn't want to start the game. Here are r_mode explanations:

seta r_mode "8" to something like seta r_mode "6"

The ones which your laptop should support:
0 = 320x240
1 = 400x300
2 = 512x384
3 = 640x480
4 = 800x600
5 = 960x720
6 = 1024x768
7 = 1152x864
11 = 856x480 (wide)
-1 = custom

The ones which your laptop obviously doesn't support:
8 = 1280x1024
9 = 1600x1200
10 = 2048x1536



2) You can try simply to delete wolfconfig_mp.cfg (or just rename it like this_is_old_wolfconfig_mp.cfg) and run the game again (it should generate new wolfconfig_mp.cfg file which would guess more appropriate values for your system configuration, or something like that).

victor
Greenhorn
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 3:46 am
Contact:

Re: game wont load error message

Post by victor » Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:26 am

thank you that worked now how do i make it full screen
i have black on both edges of screen
i dont have many choices 800x600 the rest end in 768
and ww doesnt give me many choices so i guess have to run it in 1024x768 but wont make it full screen its like watchin a hd movie on old tv
quack quack

User avatar
Ringo
Site Administrator
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Am*dam
Contact:

Re: game wont load error message

Post by Ringo » Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:17 am

If playing Windowed , use ALT ENTER to switch to full screen :)
WIP : Wildwest ET
WIP : Wildwest_Radar
WIP : Wildwest_Sanmiguel
WIP : Wildwest_Yuma
WIP : Wildwest Jailbreak
WIP : Wildwest_Muerte
WIP : Wildwest_Abby

User avatar
zivs
Super Moderator
Posts: 721
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 3:38 pm
Location: Ogre, Latvia
Contact:

Re: game wont load error message

Post by zivs » Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:45 pm

Widescreen is not really supported by WildWest (and RtCW as such) - you just have to put manually then r_mode to "-1" and in r_customheight and r_customwidth to set maximum resolution your screen supports. Just be warned, that the game will be badly stretched and won't look good.

All I can suggest is playing in windowed mode - then those black sides won't be so annoying :)

User avatar
El_Pedo_Ciego
Prospector
Prospector
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 11:38 pm
Location: The Oregon Trail

Re: game wont load error message

Post by El_Pedo_Ciego » Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:55 pm

This happens when I copy the game to a "new" older computer that I get in from time to time, or if some dope changes the graphics settings and restarts the compu and it won't load. The fix I've been using is to have the shortcut call the variable when you load WW.

Something like this:

Target: "C:\PathToWW" +seta r_mode "4"

Then once you are in-game you can change your resolution to whatever without having to mess with any .cfg files...
/PF/ El_Pedo_Ciego - a.k.a LonePedo -


"I maintain a steady diet of rare steaks, beef jerky and live ammunition..."

User avatar
zivs
Super Moderator
Posts: 721
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 3:38 pm
Location: Ogre, Latvia
Contact:

Re: game wont load error message

Post by zivs » Sun Oct 07, 2012 5:20 pm

Since Hewster have added for upcoming 1.7 version also a widescreen support, here are the new (all) r_mode options:

Mode 0: 320x240
Mode 1: 400x300
Mode 2: 512x384
Mode 3: 640x480
Mode 4: 800x600
Mode 5: 960x720
Mode 6: 1024x768
Mode 7: 1152x864
Mode 8: 1280x960
Mode 9: 1280x1024
Mode 10: 1400x1050
Mode 11: 1600x1200
Mode 12: 1920x1440
Mode 13: 2048x1536
Mode 14: 800x480 (wide)
Mode 15: 856x480 (wide)
Mode 16: 1024x600 (wide)
Mode 17: 1280x720 (wide)
Mode 18: 1280x768 (wide)
Mode 19: 1280x800 (wide)
Mode 20: 1360x768 (wide)
Mode 21: 1366x768 (wide)
Mode 22: 1440x900 (wide)
Mode 23: 1600x900 (wide)
Mode 24: 1600x1024 (wide)
Mode 25: 1680x1050 (wide)
Mode 26: 1920x1080 (wide)
Mode 27: 1920x1200 (wide)
Mode 28: 2560x1440 (wide)
Mode 29: 2560x1600 (wide)

User avatar
El_Pedo_Ciego
Prospector
Prospector
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 11:38 pm
Location: The Oregon Trail

Re: game wont load error message

Post by El_Pedo_Ciego » Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:18 pm

Thanks Zivs! I've been guessing all this time!
/PF/ El_Pedo_Ciego - a.k.a LonePedo -


"I maintain a steady diet of rare steaks, beef jerky and live ammunition..."

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest